Steps to Avoid Rejection of Real Estate Documents

- 1. When delivering a document to the Clerk's office, someone within our office needs to check the documents to ensure they meet the filing requirements, and receive proper payment before the filer can leave.
- 2. Property must be located in York County, and "York County, Nebraska" needs to be included within the legal description.
- 3. Only **ORIGINAL DOCUMENTS** will be filed photo copies will not be filed.
- 4. All parties involved in the transaction must sign the document witnessed and signed by a Notary.
- 5. A Deed of Trust cannot be filed by a grantor that includes a legal description that is not owned by the grantor.
- 6. If your document refers to another document (release or assignment of mortgage), you must include the book and page to which it refers and the legal description must be the exact same as the original document.
- 7. A **Full** legal description of the real estate affected must be included as per Nebraska Statute 23-1514. **This does not include "Abbreviated" legal descriptions.** We will accept abbreviated directional information ONLY i.e. SW, NW, SE, NE Real Estate Legal Descriptions must be exact and complete: subdivision/addition, lot, block or section-township (North)-Range (including West of the 6th PM), town, York County, Nebraska ie...
 - 1. Lots Four (4), & Five (5), Block Fifteen (15) Original Town, York, York County, Nebraska
 - Southwest Quarter (SW ¼) of Section Seventeen (17), Township Twelve (12) North, Range Four (4), West of the 6th PM in York County, Nebraska Real Estate Transfer Statement Form (521) must be filled out <u>IN FULL</u>, signed and dated. Don't forget to include payment. Filing Fees are \$10.00 for the first page and \$6.00 for each additional page plus documentary stamp tax fees (when applicable)
 - 3. If an exemption from documentary stamps is being claimed, it must be notated on the Transfer Statement line 25 and lines 22 & 24 must read \$0.00.
 - 4. If Exemption 19 is used, a two-page completed CERTIFICATE OF EXEMPTION form must be included as per Nebraska Statute 76-902.
 - 5. Payments must be made by cash, check or payport. No over or under amounts will be accepted. Partial charges will NOT be accepted. Full charges will be accepted per each document. Documentary stamp tax fees cannot be charged.
- 8. When an error on a document has occurred place a line through the error DO NOT USE white out. We cannot accept a document that has been altered by white out.
- 9. It is the responsibility of the person(s) bringing the document(s) to our office to file to make sure that these requirements are met. To avoid mistakes, have someone other than yourself proofread the document.
- 10. Documents are always returned to the filer via in-office pick up or mail, unless otherwise indicated by the filer at the time of drop off.